FREE phone consultation 360-464-1650 | 888-655-2647
FREE phone consultation
360-464-1650 | 888-655-2647
Menu
Judge John E. Turner (Ret.)

What Happens When More Than One Person Is At Fault In A Car Accident?

When you are involved in a car accident that is caused exclusively by another driver's negligence, you can hold the driver responsible for the accident and seek compensation for your monetary losses.

But what happens when you were partially at fault for the accident?

If you were partially responsible for causing a car accident, you may have questions about liability and how that affects your financial recovery.

Understanding comparative fault

Washington State recognizes comparative negligence in accident cases. It is common for more than one driver to be at fault in a car accident. Maybe one driver was driving too fast - but maybe the other was following too closely. The point is, the law recognizes that more than one person can be at fault in these types of cases.

The amount of compensation available to the accident victim is directly related to the amount of responsibility is assumed for the accident. A judge or jury looks at evidence and determines the percentage of fault when two or more vehicles are involved in an accident.

As an example, if you were found to be 25% at fault in an accident, and the award is $20,000, your recovery would be $20,000 minus 25%, or $15,000.

Not all states have comparative fault laws. Plaintiffs in Washington State have the opportunity to seek compensation after an accident even if they were partly at fault.

If you have been involved in a car accident and wish to discuss your recovery options with an attorney, please complete our online contact form to schedule a free phone consultation.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information