FREE phone consultation 360-464-1650 | 888-655-2647
FREE phone consultation
360-464-1650 | 888-655-2647
Menu
Judge John E. Turner (Ret.)

March 2018 Archives

Probation allows DUI offenders to avoid jail

Washington residents who are convicted of driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs can face a range of penalties. While those with several prior DUI convictions may face felony drunk driving charges, first-time offenders are generally treated more leniently. In these situations, judges forgo custodial sentences in favor of community service, probation and substance abuse counseling. Many DUI offenders must also have ignition interlock devices installed in their vehicles.

License suspensions after a DUI charge or conviction

Washington motorists who are taken into custody for a DUI could be subject to a drivers license suspension. However, an individual may ask for a hearing within 20 days of the incident. If the hearing examiner upholds the appeal, the driver will keep his or her license. If the appeal is denied, the license suspension will last from 90 days to two years, and it will start 60 days after a person is taken into custody.

Lab backlog delays DUI cases

There is a significant backlog of DUI cases in Washington due to thousands of requests for blood tests for drivers accused of using drugs before driving. In 2017, the state toxicology lab, run by the Washington State Patrol, handled 15,945 cases. This figure signifies an increase of 9 percent over 2016. The number of such cases has grown by 45 percent in the previous five years.

Drunk drivers could face harsh consequences

Motorists who are detained on suspicion of DUI in Washington and other states may want to know more about the potential charges that could follow. Drunk driving charges may be connected to the use of alcohol, illegal substances or prescription drugs. In some situations, DUI charges are combined with manslaughter.